Loading…
Loading…
Squaby Score · Methodology version 1.0 · Last Updated:
This page explains how Squaby calculates the Squaby Score for swap providers. The numbers, weights and point tables on this page come from the same data that calculates the scores, so the description and the calculation cannot differ.
Crypto exchanges and hardware wallets are scored with separate methods: see the Crypto Exchange Rating Methodology and the Hardware Wallet Rating Methodology. All three are listed on the overview of all methodologies.
The Squaby Score is a number from 0 to 100. It summarizes how well the documented facts about one swap provider meet 41 published criteria in 7 weighted categories. It describes the provider's crypto-to-crypto swap service: you send one coin to a deposit address and the provider sends you another coin to a payout address. Other products of the same company, such as buying crypto with a card, wallet apps, business products or loyalty tokens, are not scored. A review may mention them.
The score describes the provider's global offering: its international site and English pages. Which countries it serves, and which rules apply to you, differ; the reviews name these differences, and you must check what applies to you.
The score is built from public documents and public records: the provider's terms, policies and help pages, official registers and independent reports. Squaby has not made swaps with the providers it scores. What a provider's swap form shows before any coins are sent may be recorded as a dated Squaby check.
The score is not a guarantee of safety, not a recommendation and not financial advice. A high score does not mean that a swap will go smoothly. When you send coins to a swap provider, you trust it with them until the payout is sent, whatever the provider calls its service. A swap can be stopped for an identity or source-of-funds check, and what happens to your coins then depends on the provider's rules and on the law. A quote is not a promise of the final amount unless the provider offers a fixed rate; read its rules before you send anything.
Reading the score
| Category | Weight | Criteria |
|---|---|---|
| Funds safety and track record | 25% | 7 |
| Checks, holds and refunds | 20% | 6 |
| Rates and fees transparency | 15% | 6 |
| Regulation and transparency | 15% | 6 |
| Assets and networks | 10% | 4 |
| Usability | 10% | 6 |
| Support | 5% | 6 |
Every category has 100 possible points.
The class is taken from the total rounded to a whole number.
Evidence coverage is the share of the possible points that could be assessed, weighted like the score. A swap provider is ranked only when its coverage is at least 80%. Providers below that are shown without a score or a place.
The criterion "Squaby hands-on test" carries 2% of the coverage. Without a documented hands-on test, the highest possible coverage is 98%. No swap provider on Squaby has had a documented hands-on test yet, because Squaby makes no swaps.
When a fact cannot be checked from a usable source, the criterion is marked "not assessed". It is left out of both the points earned and the points possible, so it never counts as zero; it lowers the evidence coverage instead. Each review lists its criteria that were not assessed, with the reason.
Every assessed criterion needs at least one source with a valid https address and the date it was checked. A Squaby check of a swap form or a hands-on test needs a dated description of what was seen or done instead. Each review shows the sources and the check date next to every criterion.
Each recorded fact names its basis:
Registrations and licences and Operator identified earn points only when the fact is confirmed in an official register or public record. A licence or a company identity that a provider claims but that cannot be found in a register earns nothing.
Squaby reads the provider's international site and English pages where they exist and records which regional version of a page was seen.
Squaby re-checks the facts behind every score every 3 months. Each review shows the date of its oldest check. When that check is more than 90 days old, the review shows a notice that the information may be out of date.
Only the 41 criteria below count. Anything else does not change a score, for example:
The 41 criteria with their rules and points, by category. Open a category to see its criteria.
Custody during the swap explainedup to 15 points
Rule: The terms or help pages state that the provider receives and holds the deposited coins until the payout is sent: 15 points. Not stated, or the service is described as never holding the user’s coins: 0.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 15 |
| No | 0 |
Fund-loss incidents (last 5 years)up to 25 points
Rule: No incident in which users lost funds because of a flaw or breach at the provider: 25 points. Incident, cause fixed and affected users compensated: 15. Fixed, losses not compensated: 8. Not fixed or not explained: 0. Losses from phishing, fake sites copying the provider or a wrong address or network entered by the user are not counted.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| No incident with user losses | 25 |
| Incident, cause fixed, users compensated | 15 |
| Incident, cause fixed, losses not compensated | 8 |
| Incident, cause not fixed or not explained | 0 |
Customer data breach (last 5 years)up to 10 points
Rule: No reported breach of customer personal data: 10 points. A breach that the provider disclosed itself: 5. A breach known only from third parties: 0.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| No reported breach | 10 |
| Breach disclosed by the provider | 5 |
| Breach known only from third parties | 0 |
Years in operationup to 10 points
Rule: Full years since the swap service started (or the company was founded, if the start is not stated), at the check date. 8 or more: 10 points. 5 to under 8: 6. 2 to under 5: 3. Under 2: 0.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| 8 or more years | 10 |
| 5 to under 8 years | 6 |
| 2 to under 5 years | 3 |
| Under 2 years | 0 |
Independent security auditup to 15 points
Rule: An independent security audit or penetration test of the provider’s systems, published within the last 3 years: 15 points. Older than 3 years: 7. None published: 0.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Published within 3 years | 15 |
| Published, older than 3 years | 7 |
| None published | 0 |
Vulnerability disclosureup to 10 points
Rule: 5 points each: a published disclosure policy or security contact; a bug bounty programme with published rules.
| Feature | Points |
|---|---|
| Published disclosure policy or security contact | 5 |
| Bug bounty programme with published rules | 5 |
Protections against sending to the wrong placeup to 15 points
Rule: 5 points each: the payout address is checked for the selected network’s format before the swap is created; a memo or tag field with a warning is shown for coins that need one; the user can enter a refund address.
Note: May be recorded from a dated Squaby check of the provider’s swap form. No swap is made.
| Feature | Points |
|---|---|
| Payout address checked for the network’s format before the swap | 5 |
| Memo or tag field with a warning for coins that need one | 5 |
| The user can enter a refund address | 5 |
Check policy publishedup to 15 points
Rule: A published AML / KYC policy that applies to the swap service: 15 points. Whether the provider asks for identity checks at all is not scored.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 15 |
| No | 0 |
When a swap can be stoppedup to 15 points
Rule: The policy or terms state in which cases a swap can be stopped for a check (for example a risk signal from blockchain screening, an amount threshold or a sanctions match): 15 points.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 15 |
| No | 0 |
What a check asks forup to 10 points
Rule: The provider states what the user may be asked to provide in a check (identity document, source of funds and so on): 10 points.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 10 |
| No | 0 |
Time limit of a checkup to 15 points
Rule: The provider states a time limit or a typical time for completing a check once the user has sent what is asked: 15 points.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 15 |
| No | 0 |
Outcome when a check ends without a swapup to 20 points
Rule: A refund to the user is stated as the outcome when the user declines or does not pass a check, apart from cases where a law or an authority order requires the funds to be held: 20 points. A refund only at the provider’s discretion: 8. Not stated, or the provider may keep the funds beyond what a law or an authority requires: 0.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Refund stated as the outcome | 20 |
| Refund only at the provider’s discretion | 8 |
| Not stated, or the provider may keep the funds | 0 |
Refund rules for failed swapsup to 25 points
Rule: 5 points each for a published rule on what happens when: the amount sent is below the minimum; the amount is above the maximum or the limits; the wrong coin or network was sent; the rate moved beyond the stated tolerance, or a fixed rate expired before the deposit arrived; the payout fails.
| Feature | Points |
|---|---|
| Amount below the minimum | 5 |
| Amount above the maximum or the limits | 5 |
| Wrong coin or network sent | 5 |
| Rate moved beyond the tolerance, or a fixed rate expired | 5 |
| Payout fails | 5 |
Service fee explainedup to 25 points
Rule: The provider states its service fee as a figure (a percentage or a range): 25 points. It states that the fee is included in the rate, without a figure: 10. Not stated: 0. The rate level itself is not scored.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Service fee stated as a figure | 25 |
| Fee said to be included in the rate, no figure | 10 |
| Not stated | 0 |
Network fee explainedup to 15 points
Rule: The network (miner) fee of the payout is shown or explained separately from the service fee: 15 points.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 15 |
| No | 0 |
Amount to receive shown firstup to 15 points
Rule: The swap form shows the estimated amount the user will receive before the user sends anything: 15 points.
Note: May be recorded from a dated Squaby check of the provider’s swap form. No swap is made.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 15 |
| No | 0 |
Fixed-rate optionup to 20 points
Rule: A fixed-rate option is offered, with the time the quote stays valid: 20 points.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 20 |
| No | 0 |
Floating-rate rulesup to 15 points
Rule: For floating rates, the provider states when the final rate is set (for example when the deposit is confirmed) and what happens if it moves: 15 points.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 15 |
| No | 0 |
Limits shown firstup to 10 points
Rule: The minimum (and the maximum, if there is one) is shown before the user sends anything: 10 points.
Note: May be recorded from a dated Squaby check of the provider’s swap form. No swap is made.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 10 |
| No | 0 |
Registrations and licencesup to 30 points
Rule: Only with an official register as the basis. Virtual-asset or money-service registrations or licences of the entity that provides the swap service, found in official registers. Two or more jurisdictions: 30 points. One: 20. None found: 0. A registration is not always supervision.
Note: Earns points only when the fact is confirmed in an official register or public record.
Note: Only registrations and licences of the entity that provides the swap service under the provider’s terms count. A registration of another group company or of a partner in one country does not. A registration is not always supervision.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Two or more jurisdictions in official registers | 30 |
| One jurisdiction in an official register | 20 |
| None found in official registers | 0 |
Operator identifiedup to 20 points
Rule: Only with an official register as the basis. The operator’s legal entity name, registered address and company number are published on its site and match an official company register: 20 points.
Note: Earns points only when the fact is confirmed in an official register or public record.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 20 |
| No | 0 |
Enforcement actions (last 5 years)up to 20 points
Rule: No enforcement action by a regulator or authority against the operator found: 20 points. Only concluded actions: 10. An open action: 0.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| No enforcement action found | 20 |
| Only concluded actions | 10 |
| An action is open or unresolved | 0 |
Terms and privacy policyup to 10 points
Rule: Terms of use and a privacy policy are published and dated: 10 points.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 10 |
| No | 0 |
Restricted countriesup to 10 points
Rule: A list of countries or regions where the service is not offered is published: 10 points.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 10 |
| No | 0 |
Complaint procedureup to 10 points
Rule: A complaint procedure is published (how to complain and what happens next): 10 points.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 10 |
| No | 0 |
Supported networksup to 30 points
Rule: Networks (blockchains) on the official asset list, or the provider’s own stated number if the list has no network column. Tokens are not counted separately. 50 or more: 30 points. 25 to 49: 20. 10 to 24: 10. 5 to 9: 5. Under 5: 0.
Note: Networks are counted on the provider’s official asset list. If the list names no networks, the provider’s own stated number is used and the review says so.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| 50 or more networks | 30 |
| 25 to under 50 networks | 20 |
| 10 to under 25 networks | 10 |
| 5 to under 10 networks | 5 |
| Under 5 networks | 0 |
Major assetsup to 25 points
Rule: 5 points each for support of the five assets fixed in version 1.0: BTC, ETH, XRP, BNB, SOL.
| Feature | Points |
|---|---|
| BTC | 5 |
| ETH | 5 |
| XRP | 5 |
| BNB | 5 |
| SOL | 5 |
Stablecoinsup to 20 points
Rule: 10 points each: USDT; USDC.
| Feature | Points |
|---|---|
| USDT | 10 |
| USDC | 10 |
Asset list publishedup to 25 points
Rule: A public list of supported assets that names the network of each asset: 25 points.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 25 |
| No | 0 |
No account needed for a swapup to 20 points
Rule: A swap can be made without creating an account: 20 points. This is about sign-up, not about checks.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 20 |
| No | 0 |
Swap status pageup to 20 points
Rule: Each swap has a status page (for example by swap ID) that shows its stages and the transaction hashes: 20 points.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 20 |
| No | 0 |
Interface languagesup to 15 points
Rule: Languages of the provider’s swap site. 10 or more: 15 points. 5 to 9: 10. 2 to 4: 5. One: 0.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| 10 or more languages | 15 |
| 5 to under 10 languages | 10 |
| 2 to under 5 languages | 5 |
| Under 2 languages | 0 |
How-to guideup to 15 points
Rule: An official step-by-step guide for making a swap: 15 points.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 15 |
| No | 0 |
Own mobile appsup to 10 points
Rule: 5 points each: iOS; Android (apps made by the provider that offer the swap).
| Feature | Points |
|---|---|
| iOS app | 5 |
| Android app | 5 |
Squaby hands-on testup to 20 points
Rule: Only as a documented Squaby test with a real swap (a reviewer made a swap and kept notes): 20 points. Not assessed while Squaby makes no swaps.
Note: Recorded only as a documented hands-on test by a Squaby reviewer. Without such a test the criterion is not assessed.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 20 |
| No | 0 |
Support channelsup to 30 points
Rule: 15 points each: live chat; ticket or email.
| Feature | Points |
|---|---|
| Live chat | 15 |
| Ticket or email | 15 |
Support hoursup to 15 points
Rule: Support is stated to be available 24/7: 15 points.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 15 |
| No | 0 |
Help centerup to 15 points
Rule: A searchable help center: 15 points.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 15 |
| No | 0 |
Scam warningup to 20 points
Rule: An official page that lists the provider’s real domains and apps or warns against fake sites and fake support accounts: 20 points.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 20 |
| No | 0 |
Response targetup to 10 points
Rule: A stated support response time: 10 points.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 10 |
| No | 0 |
Status pageup to 10 points
Rule: A public status page for the provider’s services, or a public list of coins whose deposits or payouts are paused: 10 points.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 10 |
| No | 0 |
Responsibility for Squaby's content, including these scores, and the contact details are described in the Editorial Policy.
AI tools help find sources, read documents and draft text. AI output is never used as a source. Every recorded fact comes from a primary source with a check date, and a person decides every judgment call before it is published.
If you find an error or an outdated fact, report it as described in the Editorial Policy. When an error is confirmed, the recorded fact is corrected and the score is recalculated from it.
When a weight, a limit or a point value changes, the version number goes up and every swap provider is scored again.
The swap providers are listed on the crypto swap provider page. 1 swap provider review shows a score. Using crypto involves risk of loss; see the Risk Disclaimer.