Loading…
Loading…
Squaby Score · Methodology version 1.0 · Last Updated:
This page explains how Squaby calculates the Squaby Score shown on its crypto exchange reviews and in the exchange ranking. The numbers, weights and point tables on this page come from the same data that calculates the scores, so the description and the calculation cannot differ.
Hardware wallets and swap providers are scored with separate methods: see the Hardware Wallet Rating Methodology and the Swap Provider Rating Methodology. All three are listed on the overview of all methodologies.
The Squaby Score is a number from 0 to 100. It summarizes how well an exchange's documented facts meet 38 published criteria in 7 weighted categories. It rewards documented facts and disclosures.
The score describes the exchange's global offering, not the version available in one country. Fees, products, licenses and availability differ by country; each review lists regional restrictions separately, and you must check what applies to you.
The score is not a guarantee of safety, not a recommendation and not financial advice.
Reading the score
| Category | Weight | Criteria |
|---|---|---|
| Security and trust | 25% | 5 |
| Regulation and transparency | 15% | 5 |
| Fees | 15% | 6 |
| Assets and markets | 15% | 5 |
| Usability | 10% | 6 |
| Customer support | 10% | 6 |
| Fiat deposits and withdrawals | 10% | 5 |
Every category has 100 possible points.
The class is taken from the total rounded to a whole number.
Evidence coverage is the share of the possible points that could be assessed, weighted like the score. An exchange appears in the ranking only when its coverage is at least 80%. Exchanges below that are listed as "Not Rated Yet", without a score or a place.
The criterion "Hands-on test by Squaby" carries 1.5% of the coverage. Without a documented hands-on test, the highest possible coverage is 98.5%. No exchange on Squaby has had a documented hands-on test yet.
When a fact cannot be checked from a usable source, the criterion is marked "not assessed". It is left out of both the points earned and the points possible, so it never counts as zero; it lowers the evidence coverage instead. Each review lists its criteria that were not assessed, with the reason.
Every assessed criterion needs at least one source with a valid https address and the date it was checked. A hands-on test needs a dated description of what was tested instead. Each review shows the sources and the check date next to every criterion.
Each recorded fact names its basis:
Registrations and licenses and Legal entity disclosed earn points only when the fact is confirmed in an official register or public record. A license that an exchange claims but that cannot be found in a register earns nothing.
Squaby checks the exchange's international site where one exists and records which regional version of a page was seen.
Squaby re-checks the facts behind every score every 3 months. Each review shows the date of its oldest check. When that check is more than 90 days old, the review and the ranking show a notice that the information may be out of date.
Only the 38 criteria below count. Anything else does not change a score, for example:
The 38 criteria with their rules and points, by category. Open a category to see its criteria.
Proof of reservesup to 25 points
Rule: Attested: published within the last 90 days with a user-verifiable method (for example a Merkle-tree check) and an independent attestation. Verifiable: published within 90 days with a user-verifiable method, no independent attestation. Stale: published, but older than 90 days or without a verifiable method. None: not published.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Recent, verifiable and independently attested | 25 |
| Recent and verifiable, no independent attestation | 18 |
| Older than 90 days or without a verifiable method | 10 |
| Not published | 0 |
Security incident history (last 5 years)up to 25 points
Rule: None: no publicly reported incident with loss of customer funds. Reimbursed: incident, customers fully reimbursed. Partial: incident, customers partly reimbursed. Unreimbursed: customer losses not reimbursed.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| No reported incident with customer losses | 25 |
| Incident, customers fully reimbursed | 15 |
| Incident, customers partly reimbursed | 5 |
| Incident, customer losses not reimbursed | 0 |
Years in operationup to 15 points
Rule: Full years since founding at the check date. 8 or more: 15 points. 5 to under 8: 10. 2 to under 5: 5. Under 2: 0.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| 8 or more | 15 |
| 5 to under 8 | 10 |
| 2 to under 5 | 5 |
| Under 2 | 0 |
Account security featuresup to 15 points
Rule: 5 points each: authenticator-app two-factor authentication; hardware key or passkey support; withdrawal address allowlist.
| Feature | Points |
|---|---|
| Authenticator-app two-factor authentication | 5 |
| Hardware key or passkey support | 5 |
| Withdrawal address allowlist | 5 |
Customer asset protection disclosureup to 20 points
Rule: 10 points for stating how customer assets are stored (for example the share held in cold storage). 10 points for stating an insurance or emergency fund with its size and rules. These points reward disclosure, not a guarantee.
| Feature | Points |
|---|---|
| Storage of customer assets disclosed | 10 |
| Insurance or emergency fund disclosed | 10 |
Registrations and licensesup to 35 points
Rule: Three or more: registered or licensed in three or more jurisdictions, each verifiable in an official register. One or two: one or two verifiable. None: none verifiable. A claim that cannot be found in a register earns nothing.
Note: Earns points only when the fact is confirmed in an official register or public record.
Note: Each regulator with its own law and its own register counts as a separate jurisdiction, even inside one country. For example, ADGM (Abu Dhabi Global Market) and VARA (Dubai) count as two jurisdictions.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Three or more jurisdictions verifiable in an official register | 35 |
| One or two jurisdictions verifiable in an official register | 25 |
| None verifiable | 0 |
Legal entity disclosedup to 20 points
Rule: Legal name, registered address and company number are published and consistent with a public register.
Note: Earns points only when the fact is confirmed in an official register or public record.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 20 |
| No | 0 |
Enforcement history (last 5 years)up to 25 points
Rule: None: no public enforcement action with a fine or sanction. Concluded: action concluded (fine paid, settlement completed). Open: action open or unresolved.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| No public enforcement action with a fine or sanction | 25 |
| Action concluded | 10 |
| Action open or unresolved | 0 |
Restricted jurisdictions publishedup to 10 points
Rule: A clear, current list of countries where the service is not offered.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 10 |
| No | 0 |
Terms, privacy and risk disclosuresup to 10 points
Rule: Terms of service, a privacy notice and a risk warning are public and easy to find.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 10 |
| No | 0 |
Base spot trading feeup to 30 points
Rule: The published entry-level spot fee, as the average of maker and taker in percent. Up to 0.10%: 30 points. Up to 0.20%: 24. Up to 0.30%: 18. Up to 0.50%: 10. Above 0.50%: 4.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Up to 0.10% | 30 |
| Above 0.10%, up to 0.20% | 24 |
| Above 0.20%, up to 0.30% | 18 |
| Above 0.30%, up to 0.50% | 10 |
| Above 0.50% | 4 |
Full fee schedule publishedup to 20 points
Rule: Trading, deposit and withdrawal fees are in one public schedule.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 20 |
| No | 0 |
Volume or loyalty discounts documentedup to 10 points
Rule: Tiers or discounts are public and explained.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 10 |
| No | 0 |
Deposit feesup to 15 points
Rule: Free bank: at least one bank-transfer method is free. Paid only: only card or other paid methods. Undisclosed: deposits are charged and the fee is not disclosed.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| At least one bank-transfer method is free | 15 |
| Only card or other paid methods | 8 |
| Charged and not disclosed | 0 |
Withdrawal fees disclosedup to 15 points
Rule: Network or flat fees for major assets are listed before the user withdraws.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 15 |
| No | 0 |
Spread or markup on simple buyup to 10 points
Rule: The exchange states what it adds on top of the market price in its simple buy or convert product.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 10 |
| No | 0 |
Number of listed assets (spot)up to 30 points
Rule: Counted or stated from the exchange’s own list on the check date. 300 or more: 30 points. 150 to 299: 24. 75 to 149: 18. 30 to 74: 10. Under 30: 5.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| 300 or more | 30 |
| 150 to under 300 | 24 |
| 75 to under 150 | 18 |
| 30 to under 75 | 10 |
| Under 30 | 5 |
Product breadthup to 25 points
Rule: 10 points for spot trading, 5 for margin, 5 for derivatives, 5 for staking or earn. Breadth is not a recommendation: complex products carry extra risk and are often restricted by region.
| Feature | Points |
|---|---|
| Spot trading | 10 |
| Margin trading | 5 |
| Derivatives | 5 |
| Staking or earn products | 5 |
Advanced order typesup to 15 points
Rule: Limit and stop orders, plus at least one advanced type (for example OCO).
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 15 |
| No | 0 |
Public APIup to 15 points
Rule: A documented public API with published rate limits.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 15 |
| No | 0 |
Listing policy publishedup to 15 points
Rule: Published criteria for listing and delisting assets.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 15 |
| No | 0 |
Onboarding documentedup to 20 points
Rule: Account creation and identity verification steps are described, with a stated typical time.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 20 |
| No | 0 |
Mobile appsup to 20 points
Rule: 10 points for an official iOS app and 10 for an official Android app, each with a store listing.
| Feature | Points |
|---|---|
| Official iOS app | 10 |
| Official Android app | 10 |
Interface languagesup to 15 points
Rule: Ten or more: 15 points. Five to nine: 10. Two to four: 5.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| 10 or more | 15 |
| 5 to under 10 | 10 |
| 2 to under 5 | 5 |
| Under 2 | 0 |
Beginner interfaceup to 15 points
Rule: A simplified buy or convert interface exists next to the advanced trading view.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 15 |
| No | 0 |
Learning resourcesup to 15 points
Rule: A public learning or help section for newcomers.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 15 |
| No | 0 |
Hands-on test by Squabyup to 15 points
Rule: Awarded only when a reviewer actually completed and documented a test (sign-up, deposit or buy flow) on a stated date. Otherwise the criterion is not assessed.
Note: Recorded only as a documented hands-on test by a Squaby reviewer. Without such a test the criterion is not assessed.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 15 |
| No | 0 |
Support channelsup to 25 points
Rule: 10 points for live chat, 10 for ticket or email, 5 for phone.
| Feature | Points |
|---|---|
| Live chat | 10 |
| Ticket or email | 10 |
| Phone | 5 |
24/7 availability statedup to 20 points
Rule: The exchange states round-the-clock support.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 20 |
| No | 0 |
Help centerup to 15 points
Rule: A searchable help center in more than one language.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 15 |
| No | 0 |
Response-time targetup to 10 points
Rule: A published target or service level for response time.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 10 |
| No | 0 |
Status pageup to 15 points
Rule: A public status page that shows outages.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 15 |
| No | 0 |
Complaint procedureup to 15 points
Rule: A documented complaint process, including where to escalate (for example an ombudsman or the regulator).
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 15 |
| No | 0 |
Fiat currenciesup to 25 points
Rule: 20 or more: 25 points. 10 to 19: 20. 5 to 9: 15. 2 to 4: 8. One: 3. None: 0.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| 20 or more | 25 |
| 10 to under 20 | 20 |
| 5 to under 10 | 15 |
| 2 to under 5 | 8 |
| 1 to under 2 | 3 |
| Under 1 | 0 |
Payment methodsup to 35 points
Rule: 20 points for bank transfer, 10 for card, 5 for other local methods (for example e-wallets).
| Feature | Points |
|---|---|
| Bank transfer | 20 |
| Card | 10 |
| Other local methods | 5 |
Fast deposits documentedup to 10 points
Rule: The exchange states which methods are instant or near-instant.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 10 |
| No | 0 |
Withdrawal to a bank accountup to 15 points
Rule: Fiat withdrawals to a bank account are offered.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 15 |
| No | 0 |
Limits disclosedup to 15 points
Rule: Deposit and withdrawal limits are published per verification level.
| Finding | Points |
|---|---|
| Yes | 15 |
| No | 0 |
Responsibility for Squaby's content, including these scores, and the contact details are described in the Editorial Policy.
AI tools help find sources, read documents and draft text. AI output is never used as a source. Every recorded fact comes from a primary source with a check date, and a person decides every judgment call before it is published.
If you find an error or an outdated fact, report it as described in the Editorial Policy. When an error is confirmed, the recorded fact is corrected and the score is recalculated from it.
When a weight, a limit or a point value changes, the version number goes up and every exchange is scored again.
The current ranking is on the crypto exchange comparison. Crypto trading involves significant risk of loss; see the Risk Disclaimer.