Loading…
Loading…
Prices and availability on SafePal’s website can change and are not guaranteed.
Advertising disclosure: This page contains partner links. Squaby may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Partner links do not change a score.
The SafePal S1 Pro is a hardware wallet that signs transactions by scanning QR codes with its camera and showing QR codes on its screen, and works only with the SafePal App on iOS and Android and with the SafePal browser extension. SafePal’s Terms of Service name SkyGenesis Holdings Limited as the company behind SafePal, without a country, address or company number. Its Squaby Score rests on public documents and records checked on October 23, 2026; Squaby has not tested the device. SafePal also sells the S1 and the Bluetooth-based X1, which this review does not cover.
Methodology version 1.0 · Checked on
72 / 100
Class B
97.5%
of the possible points could be assessed (40 of 41 criteria)
A: 80 or more · B: 65 to 79 · C: 50 to 64 · D: below 50
Taken from the total rounded to a whole number.
The facts behind this score were checked on . Squaby re-checks them every 3 months. Prices, firmware and availability change, so verify them on the manufacturer’s official site before acting.
The score combines 41 criteria in seven weighted categories. Each criterion has a published rule (shown below), and its points are calculated from the fact Squaby recorded together with its source and check date; points are never typed in by hand. A criterion that could not be checked is marked "not assessed": it is left out of both the points earned and the points possible, so it never counts as zero, and it lowers the evidence coverage instead.
The score describes the SafePal S1 Pro model’s global offering. It rests on public documents and public records, not on a lab test of the device. It rewards documented facts and disclosures. It is not a guarantee of safety and not a recommendation.
Secure element0 / 10 points
Finding: No
Note: SafePal states that an independent secure element protects the keys, but its product page, help center and manual name no chip model or chip maker; the criterion needs a named chip.
Rule: The manufacturer states that the keys are protected by a named secure element chip: 10 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Secure element certificate0 / 15 points
Finding: No certificate found in a public register
Note: Without a named chip, no certificate can be matched to the device; the Common Criteria list has no entry for SafePal. SafePal’s own statements of the level differ: "EAL6+" on the product page, "EAL5+" in the help center and "EAL6++" (not a Common Criteria level) on its About page.
Rule: Only with an official register as the basis. Active certificate for the named chip at EAL5+ or higher (with AVA_VAN.5) found in a public register: 15 points. Active certificate below that level, or an EAL5+ certificate that is archived or expired: 8. Not found: 0. A chip certificate covers the chip, not the whole device.
Basis: Official register or public record · checked on
Device-level security certification0 / 10 points
Finding: No device-level certificate found
Note: No entry for SafePal in the Common Criteria list or in the ANSSI catalogue of October 16, 2026.
Rule: Only with an official register as the basis. The device or its operating system (not only the chip) holds an active certificate from a national security agency or a Common Criteria scheme, found in the register: 10 points. Archived or expired: 5. None found: 0.
Basis: Official register or public record · checked on
On-device protections25 / 25 points
Finding: Found: PIN needed to unlock; Wipe or permanent lock after wrong PINs; Address and amount shown on the device’s own screen; Physical confirmation on the device for every signature; Firmware signature checked by the device.
Note: A 6 to 12-digit PIN; the private key is deleted after the PIN is mistyped "multiple times" (the number is not stated); the device shows the transfer details on its screen and the transfer is signed on the device; the device runs only firmware that passes its verification and refuses downgrades.
Rule: 5 points each: PIN needed to unlock; the device wipes or locks permanently after a limited number of wrong PINs; address and amount shown on the device’s own screen before signing; every signature needs a physical confirmation on the device; the device checks the firmware’s signature before installing or starting it.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Genuine-device check10 / 10 points
Finding: Yes
Note: On first start the device shows a unique QR code that opens a SafePal verification page, and a 6-digit code generated by the device is entered there; the result shows whether the device is genuine and whether it has been used before. SafePal does not describe the mechanism and does not say whether the check can detect hardware added to a genuine device.
Rule: A cryptographic genuine-device (attestation) check is documented and offered to the user: 10 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Firmware maintenance15 / 15 points
Finding: Release with notes within 6 months
Note: Firmware V1.0.82 was released on October 12, 2026, with release notes; earlier releases came every one to three months.
Rule: A firmware release with published release notes within the last 6 months: 15 points. Within the last 12 months: 8. Older, or no release notes: 0.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Unfixed known vulnerabilities (last 5 years)15 / 15 points
Finding: No unfixed known vulnerability
Note: No vulnerability affecting the S1 Pro was disclosed in the last five years (no entry in the NVD; SafePal publishes no security bulletins). Kraken Security Labs’ research on the original S1 was published on February 16, 2021, before that window; SafePal fixed the firmware downgrade it found in V1.0.24 and disputes the tamper-detection finding.
Rule: No publicly disclosed vulnerability affecting this model that is still unfixed on the check date: 15 points. An unfixed one that needs physical possession of the device and lab equipment: 8. An unfixed one that can be used remotely or without special equipment: 0.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Fund-loss incidents (last 5 years)25 / 25 points
Finding: No incident with user losses
Note: No loss of funds caused by a flaw in SafePal’s device, firmware, app or code, and no report of tampered SafePal devices, was found in SafePal’s notices or in a media search. Phishing that followed the 2026 order-data incident is not counted as an incident of the manufacturer.
Rule: None: no incident in which users lost funds because of a flaw in the manufacturer’s device, firmware, app or distributed code (including supply-chain attacks on its code): 25 points. Compensated: incident, flaw fixed and affected users compensated: 15. Uncompensated: fixed, losses not compensated: 8. Unfixed: 0. Losses from phishing, fake apps not made by the manufacturer, or users revealing their recovery phrase are not counted.
Basis: Public reports and the manufacturer’s announcements · checked on
Customer data breach (last 5 years)5 / 10 points
Finding: Breach disclosed by the manufacturer
Note: On August 16, 2026, SafePal disclosed that a flaw in the order-tracking function of a plug-in exposed the order data (name, email, shipping address, phone number, purchase details) of about 39,798 customers who ordered between March 2, 2025 and April 11, 2026; wallet credentials were not involved.
Rule: No reported breach of customer personal data: 10 points. A breach that the manufacturer disclosed itself: 5. A breach known only from third parties: 0.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Years in operation10 / 10 points
Finding: 8 full years
Note: SafePal states that it was founded in 2018 (January, according to its history timeline).
Rule: Full years since the manufacturer was founded, at the check date. 8 or more: 10 points. 5 to under 8: 6. 2 to under 5: 3. Under 2: 0.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Open source10 / 20 points
Finding: Only one open source, or published without an open licence
Note: The device application firmware is published under GPL-3.0 (only the firmware/app part; the bootloader, the system layer and the secure element code are not published). The SafePal App is published only as a "core version" from January 2024, not as the full app.
Rule: Both the firmware (apart from closed code supplied by the secure element vendor) and the main companion app published under an OSI-approved licence: 20 points. Only one of the two, or code published without an open licence: 10. Neither: 0.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Independent security audit0 / 15 points
Finding: None published
Note: No published independent audit of the S1 Pro was found. Kraken Security Labs’ 2021 research concerned the original S1; the third-party review of the order system announced in 2026 has not been published.
Rule: An independent audit or evaluation of the device or firmware, published within the last 3 years: 15 points. Older than 3 years: 7. None published: 0. Certification reports already used for the certificate criteria do not count again.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Vulnerability disclosure0 / 10 points
Finding: None found. Not found: Published disclosure policy or security contact; Bug bounty programme with published rules.
Note: No published vulnerability disclosure policy or security contact (security.txt answers 404) and no bug bounty programme were found.
Rule: 5 points each: a published disclosure policy or security contact; a bug bounty programme with published rules.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Manufacturer identified0 / 10 points
Finding: No
Note: The Terms and the Privacy Policy name SkyGenesis Holdings Limited, without a country, registered address or company number, so no register can confirm it (the App Store seller is "SAFEPAL LTD."). Binance Research (2021) and YZi Labs (2025) describe SafePal as an early Binance Labs portfolio and incubation project; neither states a current ownership share.
Rule: Only with an official register as the basis. The manufacturer’s legal entity name, registered address and company number are published on its site and match an official company register: 10 points.
Basis: Official register or public record · checked on
Portable backup standard30 / 30 points
Finding: Yes
Note: SafePal uses the BIP-39/44 standard and states that assets can be recovered with the mnemonic phrase in any other BIP-39/44 compatible wallet.
Rule: The recovery backup follows a published open standard (BIP-39 or SLIP-39) that at least one wallet from another maker can restore: 30 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Optional passphrase15 / 15 points
Finding: Yes
Note: An optional passphrase of up to 60 characters can be set in the device settings.
Rule: An optional passphrase (hidden wallets) is supported: 15 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Multi-share backup0 / 15 points
Finding: No
Note: No option to split the backup into shares was found.
Rule: The device can split the backup into shares (for example SLIP-39 Shamir): 15 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Backup check10 / 10 points
Finding: Yes
Note: The device settings include "Seed Verification" to check the written backup.
Rule: The device can verify a written backup without exposing it (dry-run recovery check): 10 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Recovery guide10 / 10 points
Finding: Yes
Note: The S1 Pro User Manual shows how to recover an existing wallet on the device.
Rule: An official step-by-step guide for restoring funds on a replacement device: 10 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Third-party handling of seed data20 / 20 points
Finding: No such service exists
Note: No service that stores or splits the hardware wallet’s seed was found; SafePal’s cloud backup applies only to its software wallet.
Rule: Scores transparency, not the design choice. No service that exports or stores seed data exists: 20 points. An optional, opt-in service exists and it is documented who holds the data and how: 20. Optional but not documented that way: 5. Required for normal use: 0. The review text describes both the added risk of such a service and what it protects against (a lost or destroyed written backup).
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Supported networks25 / 25 points
Finding: 101 networks
Note: Squaby counted 101 networks on SafePal’s own asset list with at least one coin marked for the S1/S1 Pro; SafePal’s product page says "200+ blockchains".
Rule: Networks (blockchains) on the manufacturer’s official support list; tokens on a supported network are not counted separately. 50 or more: 25 points. 25 to 49: 18. 10 to 24: 10. 5 to 9: 5. Under 5: 0.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Major assets25 / 25 points
Finding: Found: Bitcoin (BTC); Ethereum (ETH); XRP; BNB; Solana (SOL).
Note: Bitcoin, Ethereum, XRP, BNB and Solana are each marked as supported on the S1/S1 Pro.
Rule: 5 points each for support of the five largest non-stablecoin assets by market cap, fixed for version 1.0 on 2026-10-22: Bitcoin, Ethereum, XRP, BNB and Solana. Support through the manufacturer’s app or through a compatible wallet the manufacturer lists.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Own companion apps15 / 20 points
Finding: Found: iOS app; Android app; Browser extension or web app. Not found: Desktop app.
Note: The SafePal App for iOS and Android, and a browser extension that works with the S1 Pro; no desktop app.
Rule: 5 points each for a companion app made by the manufacturer: desktop; iOS; Android; browser extension or web app.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Works without the manufacturer’s app0 / 15 points
Finding: No
Note: SafePal states that the hardware wallet cannot be paired with apps other than the SafePal App.
Rule: The manufacturer lists compatible third-party wallets: 15 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Connection to decentralized apps15 / 15 points
Finding: Yes
Note: The SafePal App connects to decentralized apps through WalletConnect and its DApp browser; DApp logins of the hardware wallet are approved on the device.
Rule: A documented standard way to connect to decentralized apps (for example WalletConnect or a browser wallet integration): 15 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Published price20 / 20 points
Finding: Yes
Note: SafePal’s store shows USD 89.99 for the S1 Pro (no region choice is shown). The price is shown on the review but not scored.
Rule: The official list price is shown on the manufacturer’s international store: 20 points. The size of the price is not scored.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
No subscription for basic use20 / 20 points
Finding: Yes
Note: No subscription is needed to receive, send or store assets.
Rule: Receiving, sending and storing need no subscription or paid service: 20 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
In-app service fees disclosed0 / 20 points
Finding: No
Note: SafePal states its own fee of 0.2% on swap and bridge orders, but not the amounts of the fees charged by third-party service providers.
Rule: No paid in-app services, or the fees of in-app buy, swap or staking services (including partner fees) are disclosed: 20 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Official sales channels15 / 15 points
Finding: Yes
Note: SafePal names its own store, Amazon and local resellers as official channels and publishes a reseller list, which differs by region.
Rule: The manufacturer publishes its official stores or authorized resellers: 15 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Warranty8 / 15 points
Finding: 12 months
Note: The product page states a 1-year warranty; no separate warranty text was found.
Rule: Warranty months stated by the manufacturer. 24 or more: 15 points. 12 to 23: 8. Under 12 or not stated: 0.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Return policy10 / 10 points
Finding: Yes
Note: A full refund within 15 days of delivery for unused products in the sealed original package; a partial refund otherwise.
Rule: A return or refund policy is published: 10 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Setup guide20 / 20 points
Finding: Yes
Note: The S1 Pro User Manual gives step-by-step setup instructions.
Rule: An official step-by-step setup guide: 20 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Interface languages20 / 20 points
Finding: 14 languages
Note: The SafePal App lists 14 languages in the US App Store.
Rule: Languages of the manufacturer’s companion app (of the device if there is no app). 10 or more: 20 points. 5 to 9: 12. 2 to 4: 5. One: 0.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Learning resources15 / 15 points
Finding: Yes
Note: SafePal Academy publishes beginner material on wallets and self-custody.
Rule: Official learning material on self-custody basics: 15 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
No account needed20 / 20 points
Finding: Yes
Note: SafePal states that its wallet does not require any registration, KYC or identity verification.
Rule: The device and the manufacturer’s app can be used without creating an account or giving an email address: 20 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Squaby hands-on testNot assessed
Why not assessed: Squaby has not bought or tested the device.
Rule: Only as a documented Squaby test (a reviewer set up the device, restored a backup and signed a test transaction, with notes): 25 points. Not assessed while Squaby has no device.
Support channels15 / 30 points
Finding: Found: Ticket or email. Not found: Live chat.
Note: Support takes requests through a ticket form; no live chat or phone support was found.
Rule: 15 points each: live chat; ticket or email.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Help center20 / 20 points
Finding: Yes
Note: A searchable help center in several languages.
Rule: A searchable help center: 20 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Scam warning20 / 20 points
Finding: Yes
Note: SafePal states that it will never ask for the recovery phrase, PIN or private keys, and offers a page to report and verify channels.
Rule: An official page saying that support never asks for the recovery phrase, or listing the official domains and apps: 20 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Status page0 / 15 points
Finding: No
Note: No public status page was found.
Rule: A public status page for the manufacturer’s online services: 15 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Response target15 / 15 points
Finding: Yes
Note: SafePal states that support replies within 24 to 48 hours.
Rule: A stated support response time: 15 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
SafePal states that the S1 Pro keeps the keys in an independent secure element with sensors that trigger a self-destruct of the key data if an attack is detected, but it does not name the chip or its maker. Its own statements of the certification level differ: “EAL6+” on the product page, “EAL5+” in its help center and “EAL6++”, which is not a Common Criteria level, on its About page. No certificate for SafePal was found in the Common Criteria list or the ANSSI catalogue, so the level cannot be checked. According to SafePal, the PIN has 6 to 12 digits and the private key is deleted after several wrong PINs (the number is not stated), the device shows the transfer details on its own screen before you sign, and it runs only firmware that passes its verification and refuses older versions. On first start the device shows a unique QR code and a 6-digit code to enter on a SafePal web page, which reports whether the device is genuine and whether it has been used before; SafePal does not describe how this check works or say whether it can detect hardware added to a genuine device. The current firmware is V1.0.82, released on October 12, 2026.
The S1 Pro has no Bluetooth, Wi-Fi or NFC. Transactions travel between the device and the SafePal App as QR codes. SafePal’s product page says “No USB connection”, but the device has a USB-C port for charging, and firmware updates are installed by connecting it to a computer as a USB drive. The device cannot be paired with apps other than the SafePal App, so the app is part of the attack surface, and QR signing does not remove risks such as phishing or a tampered device.
Squaby counted 101 networks with S1 Pro support on SafePal’s own asset list, including Bitcoin, Ethereum, XRP, BNB and Solana; SafePal advertises “200+ blockchains”. The SafePal App connects to decentralized apps through WalletConnect and its built-in DApp browser, and offers swaps, staking and fiat services; SafePal states its own fee of 0.2% on swap and bridge orders but not the fees of the third-party providers. The backup follows BIP-39, so it can be restored in other compatible wallets; a passphrase and a backup check are supported, splitting the backup into shares is not, and SafePal’s cloud backup applies only to its software wallet. The device’s application firmware is published on GitHub under GPL-3.0; the bootloader, the system layer and the secure element code are not, and the SafePal App is published only as a “core version”. Binance Research wrote in February 2021 that SafePal was the first hardware wallet backed by Binance Labs, and YZi Labs (formerly Binance Labs) named SafePal among its early incubation projects in October 2025; neither states that Binance owns SafePal today.
On August 16, 2026, SafePal disclosed that a flaw in the order-tracking function of a plug-in had exposed the order data (name, email address, shipping address, phone number and purchase details) of about 39,798 customers who ordered between March 2, 2025 and April 11, 2026. SafePal states that seed phrases, private keys and other wallet credentials were not involved, that it fixed the flaw and shortened data retention to 90 days, and that an independent firm is reviewing the fix; it also warns that the data may be used for phishing and is aware of claims that the data is offered for sale. No loss of funds caused by a flaw in SafePal’s device, firmware or app, and no report of tampered SafePal devices, was found. In February 2021, Kraken Security Labs published research on the original S1: it could not steal funds, but found the tamper detection ineffective and a firmware downgrade that the device did not detect; SafePal fixed the downgrade in firmware V1.0.24 and disputes the tamper-detection finding. No published independent audit of the S1 Pro and no bug bounty programme were found.
Learn exactly how your hardware wallet converts 24 random words into infinite blockchain addresses using BIP-39 and asymmetric ciphers in Academy Module 1.