Loading…
Loading…
Prices and availability on Ledger’s website can change and are not guaranteed.
Advertising disclosure: This page contains partner links. Squaby may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Partner links do not change a score.
The Ledger Nano X is a hardware wallet made by the French company Ledger. It pairs a Secure Element chip with a small screen, Bluetooth and USB-C, and works with Ledger’s Ledger Wallet app (formerly Ledger Live) on computers and phones. Its Squaby Score rests on public documents and records checked on October 22, 2026; Squaby has not tested the device.
Methodology version 1.0 · Checked on
80 / 100
Class A
97.5%
of the possible points could be assessed (40 of 41 criteria)
A: 80 or more · B: 65 to 79 · C: 50 to 64 · D: below 50
Taken from the total rounded to a whole number.
The facts behind this score were checked on . Squaby re-checks them every 3 months. Prices, firmware and availability change, so verify them on the manufacturer’s official site before acting.
The score combines 41 criteria in seven weighted categories. Each criterion has a published rule (shown below), and its points are calculated from the fact Squaby recorded together with its source and check date; points are never typed in by hand. A criterion that could not be checked is marked "not assessed": it is left out of both the points earned and the points possible, so it never counts as zero, and it lowers the evidence coverage instead.
The score describes the Ledger Nano X model’s global offering. It rests on public documents and public records, not on a lab test of the device. It rewards documented facts and disclosures. It is not a guarantee of safety and not a recommendation.
Secure element10 / 10 points
Finding: Yes
Note: Ledger names the chip ST33J2M0 and states "Chip Certification: CC EAL5+".
Rule: The manufacturer states that the keys are protected by a named secure element chip: 10 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Secure element certificate15 / 15 points
Finding: Active certificate at EAL5+ or higher
Note: Active EAL5+ certificates with AVA_VAN.5 for the ST33J2M0 chip (revisions C03, C04 and C05, valid until 2029 to 2031). Ledger does not state which chip revision is inside the Nano X. The certificate covers the chip, not the whole device.
Rule: Only with an official register as the basis. Active certificate for the named chip at EAL5+ or higher (with AVA_VAN.5) found in a public register: 15 points. Active certificate below that level, or an EAL5+ certificate that is archived or expired: 8. Not found: 0. A chip certificate covers the chip, not the whole device.
Basis: Official register or public record · checked on
Device-level security certification5 / 10 points
Finding: Archived or expired device-level certificate
Note: The French security agency ANSSI certified the Nano X firmware in July 2023 for three years; the certificate ended on July 21, 2026, and the October 2026 catalogue lists no newer one. The current Ledger OS is 2.8.0.
Rule: Only with an official register as the basis. The device or its operating system (not only the chip) holds an active certificate from a national security agency or a Common Criteria scheme, found in the register: 10 points. Archived or expired: 5. None found: 0.
Basis: Official register or public record · checked on
On-device protections25 / 25 points
Finding: Found: PIN needed to unlock; Wipe or permanent lock after wrong PINs; Address and amount shown on the device’s own screen; Physical confirmation on the device for every signature; Firmware signature checked by the device.
Note: A 4 to 8-digit PIN; the device resets after three wrong PINs; the screen is driven by the Secure Element; transactions are confirmed on the device; the Secure Element checks the microcontroller firmware at start-up and apps not signed by Ledger show a warning.
Rule: 5 points each: PIN needed to unlock; the device wipes or locks permanently after a limited number of wrong PINs; address and amount shown on the device’s own screen before signing; every signature needs a physical confirmation on the device; the device checks the firmware’s signature before installing or starting it.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Genuine-device check10 / 10 points
Finding: Yes
Note: A cryptographic genuine check runs during setup and when the device connects to the Ledger Wallet app. Ledger states that it cannot detect added hardware such as spying implants while the original Secure Element is intact.
Rule: A cryptographic genuine-device (attestation) check is documented and offered to the user: 10 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Firmware maintenance15 / 15 points
Finding: Release with notes within 6 months
Note: Ledger OS 2.8.0 was released on October 1, 2026, with published release notes.
Rule: A firmware release with published release notes within the last 6 months: 15 points. Within the last 12 months: 8. Older, or no release notes: 0.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Unfixed known vulnerabilities (last 5 years)8 / 15 points
Finding: Unfixed, needs physical possession and lab equipment
Note: All security bulletins of the last five years that affect the Nano X are fixed. Unfixed: hidden hardware added to a device is not detected by the genuine check while the original Secure Element is intact; using this needs physical access to the device and lab work.
Rule: No publicly disclosed vulnerability affecting this model that is still unfixed on the check date: 15 points. An unfixed one that needs physical possession of the device and lab equipment: 8. An unfixed one that can be used remotely or without special equipment: 0.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Fund-loss incidents (last 5 years)0 / 25 points
Finding: Incident, flaw not fixed
Note: In October 2026, genuine devices fitted with hidden components that capture the recovery phrase reached buyers through resellers in South East Asia; reports name a reseller that Ledger lists as authorized, with sales paused. Ledger states that its chip, operating system and servers had no flaw; the genuine check cannot detect such implants, and no compensation has been announced. Earlier, the December 2023 Connect Kit incident was fixed and Ledger offered to reimburse affected users.
Rule: None: no incident in which users lost funds because of a flaw in the manufacturer’s device, firmware, app or distributed code (including supply-chain attacks on its code): 25 points. Compensated: incident, flaw fixed and affected users compensated: 15. Uncompensated: fixed, losses not compensated: 8. Unfixed: 0. Losses from phishing, fake apps not made by the manufacturer, or users revealing their recovery phrase are not counted.
Basis: Public reports and the manufacturer’s announcements · checked on
Customer data breach (last 5 years)5 / 10 points
Finding: Breach disclosed by the manufacturer
Note: In January 2026, customer order data was exposed at Global-e, the company that sells Ledger products on Ledger’s online store; Ledger published a notice and states that its own systems were not involved.
Rule: No reported breach of customer personal data: 10 points. A breach that the manufacturer disclosed itself: 5. A breach known only from third parties: 0.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Years in operation10 / 10 points
Finding: 12 full years
Note: Ledger states that it has worked since 2014.
Rule: Full years since the manufacturer was founded, at the check date. 8 or more: 10 points. 5 to under 8: 6. 2 to under 5: 3. Under 2: 0.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Open source10 / 20 points
Finding: Only one open source, or published without an open licence
Note: The Ledger Wallet app is published under the MIT license; the device apps and the SDK are published too, but the Nano X operating system and its microcontroller firmware are not.
Rule: Both the firmware (apart from closed code supplied by the secure element vendor) and the main companion app published under an OSI-approved licence: 20 points. Only one of the two, or code published without an open licence: 10. Neither: 0.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Independent security audit0 / 15 points
Finding: None published
Note: No published report of an independent audit of the Nano X operating system or firmware was found. The ANSSI certificate is counted under the device certification criterion.
Rule: An independent audit or evaluation of the device or firmware, published within the last 3 years: 15 points. Older than 3 years: 7. None published: 0. Certification reports already used for the certificate criteria do not count again.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Vulnerability disclosure10 / 10 points
Finding: Found: Published disclosure policy or security contact; Bug bounty programme with published rules.
Note: A vulnerability report form and a bug bounty with published rules for devices and web services.
Rule: 5 points each: a published disclosure policy or security contact; a bug bounty programme with published rules.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Manufacturer identified10 / 10 points
Finding: Yes
Note: Ledger SAS, company number 529 991 119, 106 rue du Temple, 75003 Paris, as stated on Ledger’s warranty page and in the French company register.
Rule: Only with an official register as the basis. The manufacturer’s legal entity name, registered address and company number are published on its site and match an official company register: 10 points.
Basis: Official register or public record · checked on
Portable backup standard30 / 30 points
Finding: Yes
Note: A 24-word recovery phrase (BIP32/BIP39/BIP44) that other wallets supporting the same standards can restore.
Rule: The recovery backup follows a published open standard (BIP-39 or SLIP-39) that at least one wallet from another maker can restore: 30 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Optional passphrase15 / 15 points
Finding: Yes
Rule: An optional passphrase (hidden wallets) is supported: 15 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Multi-share backup0 / 15 points
Finding: No
Note: Ledger states that it does not offer its own app for splitting the backup into shares; a community app exists.
Rule: The device can split the backup into shares (for example SLIP-39 Shamir): 15 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Backup check10 / 10 points
Finding: Yes
Rule: The device can verify a written backup without exposing it (dry-run recovery check): 10 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Recovery guide10 / 10 points
Finding: Yes
Rule: An official step-by-step guide for restoring funds on a replacement device: 10 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Third-party handling of seed data20 / 20 points
Finding: Optional service, holder and method documented
Note: Ledger Recover is an optional paid subscription: an encrypted copy of the seed is split into three fragments held by Coincover, Ledger and EscrowTech in hardware security modules, and two of them restore access after an identity check.
Rule: Scores transparency, not the design choice. No service that exports or stores seed data exists: 20 points. An optional, opt-in service exists and it is documented who holds the data and how: 20. Optional but not documented that way: 5. Required for normal use: 0. The review text describes both the added risk of such a service and what it protects against (a lost or destroyed written backup).
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Supported networks25 / 25 points
Finding: 100 networks
Note: Ledger states support for 100+ blockchains. Its official asset list has no network column, so Squaby could not count the networks itself.
Rule: Networks (blockchains) on the manufacturer’s official support list; tokens on a supported network are not counted separately. 50 or more: 25 points. 25 to 49: 18. 10 to 24: 10. 5 to 9: 5. Under 5: 0.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Major assets25 / 25 points
Finding: Found: Bitcoin (BTC); Ethereum (ETH); XRP; BNB; Solana (SOL).
Rule: 5 points each for support of the five largest non-stablecoin assets by market cap, fixed for version 1.0 on 2026-10-22: Bitcoin, Ethereum, XRP, BNB and Solana. Support through the manufacturer’s app or through a compatible wallet the manufacturer lists.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Own companion apps15 / 20 points
Finding: Found: Desktop app; iOS app; Android app. Not found: Browser extension or web app.
Note: Ledger Wallet (formerly Ledger Live) for Windows, macOS, Linux, iOS and Android.
Rule: 5 points each for a companion app made by the manufacturer: desktop; iOS; Android; browser extension or web app.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Works without the manufacturer’s app15 / 15 points
Finding: Yes
Rule: The manufacturer lists compatible third-party wallets: 15 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Connection to decentralized apps15 / 15 points
Finding: Yes
Note: Ledger’s own direct connection, WalletConnect and compatible third-party wallets.
Rule: A documented standard way to connect to decentralized apps (for example WalletConnect or a browser wallet integration): 15 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Published price20 / 20 points
Finding: Yes
Note: Ledger’s store shows the price for each region; the US store showed $99.
Rule: The official list price is shown on the manufacturer’s international store: 20 points. The size of the price is not scored.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
No subscription for basic use20 / 20 points
Finding: Yes
Note: Ledger Recover is optional.
Rule: Receiving, sending and storing need no subscription or paid service: 20 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
In-app service fees disclosed0 / 20 points
Finding: No
Note: Swaps in the app include a Ledger fee and a partner fee; the app shows the final rate, but the amounts of these fees were not found on Ledger’s pages.
Rule: No paid in-app services, or the fees of in-app buy, swap or staking services (including partner fees) are disclosed: 20 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Official sales channels15 / 15 points
Finding: Yes
Rule: The manufacturer publishes its official stores or authorized resellers: 15 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Warranty8 / 15 points
Finding: 12 months
Note: A voluntary one-year warranty in addition to the rights under consumer law, which differ by country.
Rule: Warranty months stated by the manufacturer. 24 or more: 15 points. 12 to 23: 8. Under 12 or not stated: 0.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Return policy10 / 10 points
Finding: Yes
Note: A 14-day right of withdrawal for consumers under European consumer law; return rules differ by region.
Rule: A return or refund policy is published: 10 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Setup guide20 / 20 points
Finding: Yes
Rule: An official step-by-step setup guide: 20 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Interface languages20 / 20 points
Finding: 11 languages
Note: The Ledger Wallet app listing names English and 10 more languages; the device itself offers English, French and Spanish.
Rule: Languages of the manufacturer’s companion app (of the device if there is no app). 10 or more: 20 points. 5 to 9: 12. 2 to 4: 5. One: 0.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Learning resources15 / 15 points
Finding: Yes
Rule: Official learning material on self-custody basics: 15 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
No account needed20 / 20 points
Finding: Yes
Note: Ledger states that there is no account, email or password for the app. Buying through a partner, Ledger Recover and contacting support need their own accounts or an email address.
Rule: The device and the manufacturer’s app can be used without creating an account or giving an email address: 20 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Squaby hands-on testNot assessed
Why not assessed: Squaby has not bought or tested the device.
Rule: Only as a documented Squaby test (a reviewer set up the device, restored a backup and signed a test transaction, with notes): 25 points. Not assessed while Squaby has no device.
Support channels30 / 30 points
Finding: Found: Live chat; Ticket or email.
Note: Chat (an AI assistant first, then an agent on request) and email answers to tickets; no phone support.
Rule: 15 points each: live chat; ticket or email.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Help center20 / 20 points
Finding: Yes
Rule: A searchable help center: 20 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Scam warning20 / 20 points
Finding: Yes
Rule: An official page saying that support never asks for the recovery phrase, or listing the official domains and apps: 20 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Status page15 / 15 points
Finding: Yes
Rule: A public status page for the manufacturer’s online services: 15 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Response target0 / 15 points
Finding: No
Note: No stated response time was found.
Rule: A stated support response time: 15 points.
Basis: Stated by the manufacturer · checked on
Ledger states that the Nano X uses the ST33J2M0 Secure Element. The Common Criteria Portal lists active EAL5+ certificates for current revisions of that chip, but Ledger does not say which revision is inside the device, and a chip certificate covers the chip, not the whole device. The French security agency ANSSI certified the Nano X firmware in July 2023 for three years; that certificate ended on July 21, 2026, and no newer one is listed. According to Ledger, the PIN has 4 to 8 digits, three wrong PINs reset the device, the screen is driven by the Secure Element, and the Secure Element checks the microcontroller firmware each time the device starts. The current firmware is Ledger OS 2.8.0, released on October 1, 2026.
The Nano X has Bluetooth (BLE 5.2) for phones and USB-C for computers and Android phones. Ledger’s setup guide says that it cannot use Bluetooth with the desktop app and cannot connect to an iPhone by cable, so iPhone use always goes over Bluetooth. Ledger publishes a notice about a Bluetooth protocol flaw that may also apply to the Nano X; it says private keys never leave the device and that Bluetooth can be turned off in favor of the cable. Any wireless interface adds attack surface compared with a wired-only design.
The device is managed with Ledger Wallet (formerly Ledger Live) for Windows, macOS, Linux, iOS and Android; Ledger states that the app needs no account, email or password. Ledger states support for 100+ blockchains and lists compatible third-party wallets such as Electrum, MetaMask and Phantom. Buying, swapping and staking in the app are services of third-party providers; swaps include a Ledger fee and a partner fee whose amounts Ledger does not publish. Ledger Recover is an optional paid subscription that stores an encrypted copy of the recovery phrase in three fragments with Coincover, Ledger and EscrowTech. It can help if the written backup is lost or destroyed, but it moves seed material off the device, needs an identity check and depends on the subscription. The app, the device apps and the developer kit are open source; the device operating system is not.
In October 2026 Ledger confirmed that a criminal group had bought genuine devices, fitted hidden components that capture the recovery phrase during setup, and put them back into distribution through resellers in South East Asia. Ledger states that there was no flaw in its chip, operating system or servers, and it asked its authorized resellers in the region to suspend sales. Media reports name an Indonesian reseller that Ledger’s own reseller list shows as an authorized reseller with sales paused. Ledger also states that its genuine check cannot detect such implants while the original Secure Element is intact. Ledger has not published the number of victims or the losses, and has announced no compensation. Earlier, in December 2023, a malicious version of Ledger’s Connect Kit library drained funds from users of some decentralized apps for less than two hours; Ledger fixed it and offered to reimburse affected users. In January 2026, customer order data was exposed at Global-e, the company that sells Ledger’s products on its online store; Ledger states that its own systems were not involved. A separate breach of Ledger’s e-commerce and marketing database was reported in 2020.
Learn exactly how your hardware wallet converts 24 random words into infinite blockchain addresses using BIP-39 and asymmetric ciphers in Academy Module 1.